Scotland, United Kingdom Food Guide: 10 Scottish food Must-Eat Restaurants & Street Food Stalls in Burntisland

August 30, 2019 Agatha Simes

Best Scottish restaurants nearby. Discover the best Scottish food in Burntisland. View Menus, Photos and Reviews for Scottish restaurants near you.. Burntisland (/bɜːrntˈaɪlənd/  listen (help·info), Scots: Bruntisland) is a royal burgh and parish in Fife, Scotland, on the northern shore of the Firth of Forth. According to the 2011 census, the town has a population of 6,269.
Things to do in Burntisland

10. The Waterfront

461-463 High Street, Kirkcaldy KY1 2SN Scotland European, British, Scottish Lunch, Dinner, Late Night Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service +44 1592 202095 http://www.thewaterfrontrestaurant.org.uk
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Overall Ratings

4 based on 302 reviews

The Waterfront

Reviewed By DumDumBoy

Wandered down the hill from our AirBnB in Kirkcaldy to enjoy the #1 restaurant - and we weren't disappointed! Saturday night (without a reservation), we were seated immediately. We shared a light bruschetta (with rosemary and tasty goats cheese) to start. For mains D opted for the catch of the day (she's serious about her fish!), I know there was monkfish in it! She loved it! I chose the chicken breast (intrigued by the caramelised onion and whiskey sauce and crumbled haggis additions) - it was delish! To finish? We shared an indulgent salted caramel chocolate hotpot. Service came with a smile and a our waitress was delightful (Sorry I didn't catch her name, but it was her last night before heading off to art school in Dundee). Thoroughly recommend The Waterfront!

9. The Novar Bar

17 Nicol Street, Kirkcaldy KY1 1NY Scotland Bar, British, Pub, Scottish Lunch, Dinner, Brunch Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service 01592-59-80-90 http://www.novarbar.com
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Overall Ratings

4 based on 269 reviews

The Novar Bar

Reviewed By 409clivea

I last visited this pub in the late seventies. This lunchtime excursion was suggested by friends who are regular customers at the Novar.The lay out inside has changed but really it is the same pub from years ago, but good.The staff were lovely and the menu is outstanding. I recommend a booking in advance because it is mega busy.The food was very good, served hot, fresh and on hot plates if relevant. No complaints by any body and almost clear plates but the portions were “belly busters” so watch out but they do a smaller portion too.Very enjoyable pub grub and great value for money.

8. Pettycur Bay Horizons Restaurant

Burntisland Road Pettycur Bay Caravan Park, Burntisland Scotland Bar, British, Scottish Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service +44 1592 892204 http://www.thebayhotel.net/restaurant.asp
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Overall Ratings

3 based on 191 reviews

Pettycur Bay Horizons Restaurant

Reviewed By 232rosalyn

Just back from an excellent lunch in Horizon restaurant at Pettycur Bay,we had friends from Australia visiting and they were so impressed with food choice,portion size and service and decor in the restaurant,we had a lovely time,thankyou,Mr Wallace thankyou so much for your very kind offer it was much appreciated,unfortunately our friends are on their way back to Australia.

7. The Bothy at Boglily

Boglily Farm Steading, Kirkcaldy KY2 5XY Scotland British, Scottish, Cafe Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch Takeout, Seating, Highchairs Available, Table Service [email protected] +44 1592 210141 https://www.thebuffalofarm.co.uk/
Food
Service
Value
Overall Ratings

4 based on 109 reviews

The Bothy at Boglily

Family friendly café and farm shop based at The Buffalo Farm. Open for breakfast and lunch, with a wide range of delicious menu options created using our own farm produce. The Bothy is located next door to our farm shop, where you can buy any of our tasty

Reviewed By rd3audi

Dropped in for breakfast and what an amazing place absolutely beautiful clean restaurant, we had three breakfasts and pancakes for my grandson it was out of this world I honestly couldn’t say enough things about the place from service to staff to the food exquisite and then there’s Sharon our waitress superb !Can’t wait to go back now 20 out of 10

6. The Cafe at Number 16

16 Shore Road, Aberdour KY3 0TR Scotland Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Takeout [email protected] +44 1383 860999 http://www.facebook.com/Cafeat16/
Food
Service
Value
Overall Ratings

4 based on 78 reviews

The Cafe at Number 16

We are a cafe with a twist. Our aim is to provide a welcoming, relaxing environment, enjoying a selection of hot and cold snacks and the usual cafe fare, including Brodies teas and coffees. The calming decor and eclectic art pieces give a hint of how we h

Reviewed By Brian8253

Warm welcome on a very cold day. Nice little cafe, very young family welcome. Although only in for soup and coffee which were very good, menu looked good. Very cold day but cafe cosy.Thank you Brian. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

The 9 Best Things to Do in Burntisland, United Kingdom (UK)

5. Tall Trees Restaurant

Kinghorn Road, Burntisland KY3 9LL Scotland Bar, British, Pub, Scottish Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible, Table Service [email protected] +44 1592 872329 http://kingswoodhotel.co.uk/restaurant/
Food
Service
Value
Overall Ratings

4 based on 32 reviews

Tall Trees Restaurant

Reviewed By Angela P

We went as a couple to try the restaurant out as we have family coming up from England and were looking for somewhere nice to take them for dinner. There was a lovely older gentleman & his daughter sat across from us. They did not eat their food. We heard them complain to the manager that the fish was very dried up & hard. The gentleman said he had eaten the fish there before and it was nice but not on this occasion. We saw the fish and my husband said it was not fit for eating. The manager spoke to the couple and said all the fish was of the same quality speculating that there was nothing wrong with it. We had already decided after hearing the conversation that would not eat there as we were planning on having fish. The waiter came to take our order my husband said we have decided not to eat here after hearing the complaint from the other table. My husband quoted it should be the chef that should be explaining to the couple about the meal that was served to them. He said I will get my manager. That was all I said to the waiter. The manager came out & was very vocal towards my husband,telling him it was none of his business, but my husband was speaking on behalf of the older gentleman as he felt that the manager was just fobbing him off. His attitude was very unacceptable, he was raising his voice & very unprofessional. When we were leaving he spoke to my husband and said that he had upset his staff, under no circumstances was this true,He only said that we have decided not to eat here after hearing the complaint from the other table. We spoke to the other couple in the car park and told them about the comment from the manager about upsetting the waiter and they were appalled by this and said under no circumstances did you say anything to upset the waiter. They were appalled by the way the manager spoke to my husband. In my opinion the boss needs to send his manager on a customer relations course. It would be nice to seek an apology.There are of course 2 two sides to every story. Within the hospitality industry we are here to be of service to our customers but we also have a duty towards our staff particularly when a customer, whether unintentionally or otherwise, makes them feel uncomfortable or intimidated. Our servers did nothing wrong and after considering the full circumstances I believe it is inappropriate to fault our manager for being supportive of our staff. I am of course saddened that after my subsequent telephone conversation with your husband the matter could not be resolved.

Top 10 restaurants in Burntisland, United Kingdom (UK)

4. McTaggart's

21 High Street, Aberdour KY3 0SH Scotland Cafe, British, Scottish Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service [email protected] +44 1383 860820
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Overall Ratings

4 based on 299 reviews

McTaggart's

Licensed cafe-bistro.

Reviewed By Martin B

A wet and chilly day, on o'clock lunchtime. McTaggarts was busy, but they found room for two people who wanted a bite in dreary November.Two soups: broccoli and almond and lentil and ham. Oat crackers with one, bacon roll the other. An Americano with milk on the side. Major problem: both soups very tepid, both dreadfully over-salted. Why didn't I complain on the spot? Typical British letting it go; mea culpa. Crackers OK (could hardly not be), bacon roll tasty and well-filled. The coffee? Hot, yes, but very muddy-tasting. There's no excuse for poor coffee nowadays. Staff all pleasant, but w lad who took my payment at the end got into a frightful muddle, offering me three different prices before we finally settled on one that seemed probable.McT's has won awards in the past but it seems to be rather on the slide. Those soups were unforgivable - not just the lack of heat but the terrible over-salting. At a time when there's a great awareness of the dangers of excessive salt in the diet, I do think the consume can be allowed to choose the salinity of their own soup. We can always add salt to soup, but we can't remove it once it is there. And the coffee used to be excellent and reliable - maybe a bit more staff training? Maybe a machine needs cleabibg?Hi Martin BThanks for your post. I can clarify a few issues for you. Firstly, if you ever find the food not to your satisfaction, please say so. We will gladly change it and will not be offended in the least. Sometimes soup is served a little cold, sometimes it is too hot. It happens.Our coffee is the highest quality. It is not cheap but we buy in high quality stuff. If you felt it tasted "muddy", we put two shots in an Americano, many other coffee establishments just give you one and I feel the coffee can be watery. It is a matter of opinion, of course but the quality can not be questioned. All our staff are trained to serve all the different coffees. Human error is a fact of life but I can assure you, no one who serves coffee in the café is incompetent or untrained.As for the soup, again, it's a matter of taste. You can't please everyone. There's rarely a day when the soups don't sell out. You claim standards at the café are "on the slide". If performance is "on the slide" I'd say some kind of pattern would have to be evident rather than a one event which is not to your satisfaction. Just today we introduced a new menu with several innovative items which I don't think is indicative of an establishment which takes its customers for granted. Lastly, the young chap who got muddled on the till. He's a new start, a smashing young lad who we are delighted to have in our team. I hope you can see things from our point of view. Next time should things not be to your satisfaction, please say so and we will make amends. Best wishes, John

Where to eat Pub food in Burntisland: The Best Restaurants and Bars

3. The Ship Tavern

High Street, Kinghorn KY3 9TJ Scotland Bar, British, Scottish Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service +44 1592 890655 http://theshipkinghorn.wordpress.com
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Overall Ratings

4 based on 278 reviews

The Ship Tavern

Reviewed By JEAN T

We had visited here earlier this year and enjoyed it so much that when we had family visiting we decided to take them there. Unfortunately, we had actually made a mistake with our booking and when we called prior to arriving they didn't have our booking totally our fault. We were so grateful that they managed to accommodate us at very short notice in their function suite even although it was set up for a function the next day. The staff were wonderful and the food again was delicious. Can't praise them highly enough. Thank you to all.

Top 9 Italian food in Burntisland, Scotland, United Kingdom

2. Room with a View

Hawkcraig, Aberdour KY3 0TZ Scotland Seafood, European, British, Scottish Lunch, Dinner, Late Night Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Highchairs Available [email protected] +44 1383 860402 http://www.roomwithaviewrestaurant.co.uk
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Overall Ratings

5 based on 465 reviews

Room with a View

Room with A View, Seafood Restaurant situated within the Forth View Hotel in the coastal village Aberdour, Fife. Enjoy succulent scallops, wholesome halibut & Fresh Langoustines and many more delicious seasonal seafood dishes cooked to exquisite perfectio

Reviewed By lisadK2415BC

Brilliant service. Super food. Can’t fault it. Lovely setting. Only 7 tables so nice and cosy. A real gem in Fife. Can’t say much more really. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Best Bar food near Burntisland, Scotland, United Kingdom

1. The Burntisland Sands Hotel

Lochies Road, Burntisland KY3 9JX Scotland Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, International Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Card [email protected] +44 1592 872230 http://www.burntislandsands.co.uk
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Overall Ratings

4 based on 211 reviews

The Burntisland Sands Hotel

Friendly helpful staff, good food, pleasant surroundings.

Reviewed By Jabberwocky7

Burntisland is devoid of anywhere for evening meals....pizza or ice cream as an evening option not the best.. And that's it for the High Street. Went to this venue and as ravenous was lured by the authentic curry claim.. So ordered the chicken curry... Which arrived in under 5 mins.. So obviously a micro wave job.. On arrival, no steaming dish and the balti type container was cold to the touch, and sure enough the meat was tepid and drowned in an almost inedible salty muck! To be fair the waitress asked how bit was and after owning up I was given a 50% discount on the food order.. But you only get one chance to make a good first impression, and this was awful... Won't be back. Sorry you didn't enjoy your meal. At the point the waitress checked back you made her aware that the curry was not hot enough. We apologised for this and offered to get a fresh curry made. We discounted your meal 50% as we took your word that it was not hot enough for your liking however as you ate every last drop and did not mention it was vile we didn't go any further. Rest assured we do not microwave our curry and like all our dishes it is made in house from scratch. Once again sorry you never enjoyed our curry, it is one of our most popular dishes although we fully appreciate that taste is entirely subjective..

Most Popular British food in Burntisland, Scotland, United Kingdom

ThingsTodoPost © 2018 All rights reserved.