Top 10 British food in Marlborough, England, United Kingdom

September 3, 2019 Milan Banda

Find out what British restaurants to try in Marlborough including the Harrow at little bedwyn, Saint Peters Coffee Shop, the Harrow at little bedwyn, Dan's Restaurant, Sarsens Restaurant and Bar, The Bell at West Overton, Silks on the Downs, The Swan, The Three Tuns, Rick Stein
Things to do in Marlborough

10. Rick Stein

Lloran House 42A High Street Lloran House, Marlborough SN8 1HQ England British Lunch, Dinner Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service [email protected] +44 1672 233333 https://www.rickstein.com/eat-with-us/marlborough/
Food
Service
Value
Overall Ratings

4 based on 904 reviews

Rick Stein

With a nod towards our coastal heritage, this restaurant brings the freshest fish, simply cooked to Marlborough. There's a delicious a la carte dinner menu, and a set menu option for lunch: the perfect place to eat in Marlborough.

Reviewed By jptlewis

Booked a Birthday lunch for two and was absolutely delighted with everything. The waiting staff were pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful without being over-attentive or pushy. Where do they get such delightful staff? The food we had was simply outstanding and i just couldn't fault it. Oysters and champagne that slipped down a treat, then for me an Indonesian fish curry that was just amazing and for my wife, a monkfish, mussels and prawn stew that she thought delightful... Lovely wine, great ambience and good value considering the quality. Only experienced lunch so far but already trying to find an excuse to go back for Dinner.

9. The Three Tuns

1 High Street, Great Bedwyn, Marlborough SN8 3NU England Bar, British, Pub Lunch, Dinner, Drinks Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service [email protected] +44 1672 870280 http://www.tunsfreehouse.com
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Overall Ratings

4 based on 301 reviews

The Three Tuns

Listed in The Guardian as one of the Top "Ten Best Pubs for a Summer Lunch" (August 2015) and by Wiltshire Life Magazine as one of the "Six Best Sunday Roasts" in the county (April 2015) A warm welcome awaits at The Three Tuns in Great Bedwyn, which is ju

Reviewed By Caroline S

The food was overpriced, £68 for 2 for lunch including 2 bottles of sparkling water. And one espresso. Fortunately for us we went with a Travelzoo voucher to mitigate any disappointment. The food was ok, nothing to be excited about it. Like the title said nothing that cannot be cooked at home, the chicken confit was an heresy but that is a personal opinion and taste as it makes the chicken “pasty” and tasteless as for the rest a burger is a burger, a steak with chimichurri sauce again nothing that we cannot produce at home. It was a trial not to be repeated.

8. The Swan

Grafton Road, Wilton, Marlborough SN8 3SS England Bar, British, Pub Lunch, Dinner, Drinks Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Table Service, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi +44 1672 870274 http://www.theswanwilton.co.uk/
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Overall Ratings

4 based on 179 reviews

The Swan

Reviewed By Stephen F

Having first visited The Swan some years ago with a group of runners/walkers, I chose to spend my birthday showing my wife the walking trail, followed by lunch. The food from the extensive menu is as good as ever, as is the friendly service, and the choice of real ales remains impressive, but the fabric needs a little TLC both inside (including the Ladies toilets, according to Alison!) and out; had we had a pair of secateurs in the car, she'd have been tidying up the garden between courses!

7. Silks on the Downs

Main Road, Marlborough SN8 1RZ England Bar, European, British, Pub Lunch, Dinner, Late Night Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service [email protected] +44 1672 841229 http://www.silksonthedowns.com
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Overall Ratings

4 based on 533 reviews

Silks On The Downs is best described as a friendly & homely ' Gastro Pub '. Our menus change regularly and we source locally from the fantastic produce available around us. We are located in Ogbourne St Andrew, one mile outside the beautiful market town o

Reviewed By clairer919

We went here for a friends birthday and were surprised at how slow the food service was, but also how tiny the roast dinner portions were. When we asked for more potatoes/veg they advised that they had run out from another group lunch sitting (we went at 1pm so not that late). They had also run out of some desserts! I’ve always loved going here for a treat and was really disappointed this time. Don’t think I’ll go back.

6. The Bell at West Overton

99 Bath Road West Overton,, Marlborough SN8 1QD England Bar, British, Pub Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service [email protected]llwestoverton.com +44 1672 861099 http://www.thebellwestoverton.co.uk
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Overall Ratings

4 based on 434 reviews

The Bell at West Overton

Excellent gastropub about 5 minutes drive west of Marlborough. Large outside terrace with river views. Very good food and friendly servicePhone number is 01672 861099

Reviewed By richsim-11

Thank you ladies for the delightful welcome we received yesterday, only equalled by the quality of service and food. The starter of Asian style duck salad was excellent,and the main courses, both the pork belly, and the most loaded paella I have ever enjoyed' Everything superbThank youRichard and Ruth

5. Sarsens Restaurant and Bar

84 High Street, Marlborough SN8 1HF England British Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Full Bar +44 1672 512232 https://www.facebook.com/sarsensmarlborough/
Food
Service
Value
Overall Ratings

5 based on 83 reviews

Sarsens Restaurant and Bar

British small plates, showcasing seasonal, local and sustainable produce. Cocktails, sparkling wine on tap and even an award winning garden!

Reviewed By Helen D

A different style of dining with all plates prepared fresh in the kitchen you can see. The portions are larger than conventional tapas but smaller than ordinary portions. All served on hand made pottery the presentation is good. We shared 3 different plates of main course and had a dessert each. The mains were much nicer than the desserts.Not a cheap option but nice surroundings, nicely served, tasty and different so will visit again. I hope the new venture is successful.

4. Dan's Restaurant

2 London Road, Marlborough SN8 1PH England European, British Lunch, Dinner Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Table Service, Free Wifi [email protected] +44 1672 512112 http://www.dansrestaurant.co.uk
Food
Service
Value
Overall Ratings

5 based on 161 reviews

Dan's Restaurant

Dan's is one of the few independent restaurants of Marlborough and we are all about doing the simple things well - Great food, great service and lots of things to drink. Seating 20-30 guests Dan's is a small and cosy place with a great buzz and atmosphere

Reviewed By Lucy P

We were lucky enough to get a table at the last minute at Dan’s. It is a beautiful little restaurant which feels like a home away from home. The staff were really generous and friendly, and the food was phenomenal - varied, flavoursome, and beautifully presented. Great vegetarian/vegan options, and at a very reasonable price given the quality of the food. Thanks for having us!

3. the Harrow at little bedwyn

High Street, Little Bedwyn, Marlborough SN8 3JP England European, British Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service [email protected] +44 1672 870871 http://www.theharrowatlittlebedwyn.com/
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Overall Ratings

5 based on 668 reviews

the Harrow at little bedwyn

Michelin Stars 2006 - 2018 Fine Dining Restaurant in the Wiltshire countryside offering one of the most awarded Wine Lists in the UK. Sourcing bespoke artisan food from throughout the United Kingdom. Diver Caught Scallops, Creel Caught Langoustines, Line

Reviewed By lauran1902

Have visited this restaurant many times over the years, but I was disappointed this time and did not enjoy the experience as much as previously. We visited with friends all of whom were having the matched wines. Husband and I chose not to, and were offered drinks as soon as we sat down. Everyone else was not offered a drink and had to wait until their 3rd course which had paired wines. Extraordinary. I had champagne, but the glasses were a miserly 100 ml. Everyone knows that a 750 ml bottle of champagne yields 6 glasses at 125 ml, so to pour only 100 ml and charge £15 per glass is very mean. We were served the bread with a bit of hummus, but no plates. The bread was very oily (a focaccia I think). The rest of the food, as usual, was absolutely fantastic. But be under no illusion about the cheese course: when the menu says 'tasting of British cheeses' you cannot actually choose the cheese you have. I don't like soft cheeses. The waitress told me there were no hard cheeses, only soft ones, and one blue cheese. So I ended up with one 'blue' cheese but it was very mild and not a Roquefort/Stilton/St Augur. The final course, treacle & ginger with honey truffles included a nice sorbet and macaroon but the treacle sponge was far too heavy and cloying. It was inconsistent with the rest of the meal and most of us did not enjoy it. Our bill was nearly £300 for 2, without tip/service charge, and when I'm paying that sort of money I rather expect perfection. This was lacking on the night in question, I am sorry to say. I've given only 3 stars because I can't say it was very good. There is a reason this restaurant has lost its Michelin star.Thank you LauranWe have now revised your complaints, once again thank you for your comments Some of your points as you are aware and not quite the truth are they? We clearly state that we pour our aged Louis Roederer Champagne in 100ml glasses, you seemed quite happy as you had three glasses. Your guests declined champagne as they were having the 6 matched wines with their menu, all served in 100ml measures besides the dessert wine which is served as 50ml. Their first wine was served with the first starter, Diver Caught Orkney Scallop, we do not match wines to the amuse Bouche as this would take consumption to over one bottle 750ml per person. You were served bread on a sharing plate with three dips, humus as you say but also cods roe and butter bean with truffles. The bread is made twice a day and on Saturday it was Focaccio, each loaf is made with 250ml of extra virgin olive oil. We offer 5 cheeses on the "tasting of British Cheeses" from a choice of at least 9, we do not have hard such as Cheddar, but do offer semi hard such as Keltic Gold, in 20 years of running the restaurant we are rarely asked for hard cheeses as most guests prefer, soft , cured or semi hard. You declined all cheeses except the blue, preferring the more firm of two choices, Two Hoots. You listed 3 French Cheeses, we don't serve French Cheeses on our "tasting of British Cheeses" You were charged just for this portion not for a tasting plate. I note your comment on the treacle tart, and will certainly adjust this, if it needs to beYour bill at £300 for two although as you say it did not include tip/Services4tourism it did include the 8 beers your husband had, your numerous glasses of champagne and your port ..... Michelin rate on food only not wine measures or hard cheeses we serve.

Marlborough Food Guide: 10 Must-Eat Restaurants & Street Food Stalls in Marlborough

2. Saint Peters Coffee Shop

St. Peters Church High Street, Marlborough SN8 1HQ England British, Cafe, Healthy Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service [email protected] +44 1672 515781 http://www.facebook.com/saintpeterscoffeeshop
Food
Service
Value
Overall Ratings

5 based on 295 reviews

Saint Peters Coffee Shop

Family run coffee shop in a beautiful church. Large selection of homemade cakes and scones. Our lunchtime menu includes nemerous homemade pies, Quiche, soup and hand battered fish and chips.Gluten free, vegetarian and vegan options available. Regular and

Reviewed By Amanda B

A delightful secret in the heart of Marlborough - yes in a Church!! This is more than a coffee shop - they produce the most delicious homemade lunches - our party enjoyed; quiche, chicken pie, cottage pie, cauliflower soup and chive scones, coffee cake and milkshakes. All scrummy! The restaurant area was packed and with good reason. Very accessible - wheelchairs, buggies, scooters. Topped off with lovely staff and the added bonus of a local craft & provisions retail outlet. We will be back!!

What to do and see in Marlborough, United Kingdom (UK): The Best Places and Tips

1. the Harrow at little bedwyn

High Street, Little Bedwyn, Marlborough SN8 3JP England European, British Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service [email protected] +44 1672 870871 http://www.theharrowatlittlebedwyn.com/
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Overall Ratings

5 based on 668 reviews

the Harrow at little bedwyn

Michelin Stars 2006 - 2018 Fine Dining Restaurant in the Wiltshire countryside offering one of the most awarded Wine Lists in the UK. Sourcing bespoke artisan food from throughout the United Kingdom. Diver Caught Scallops, Creel Caught Langoustines, Line

Reviewed By lauran1902

Have visited this restaurant many times over the years, but I was disappointed this time and did not enjoy the experience as much as previously. We visited with friends all of whom were having the matched wines. Husband and I chose not to, and were offered drinks as soon as we sat down. Everyone else was not offered a drink and had to wait until their 3rd course which had paired wines. Extraordinary. I had champagne, but the glasses were a miserly 100 ml. Everyone knows that a 750 ml bottle of champagne yields 6 glasses at 125 ml, so to pour only 100 ml and charge £15 per glass is very mean. We were served the bread with a bit of hummus, but no plates. The bread was very oily (a focaccia I think). The rest of the food, as usual, was absolutely fantastic. But be under no illusion about the cheese course: when the menu says 'tasting of British cheeses' you cannot actually choose the cheese you have. I don't like soft cheeses. The waitress told me there were no hard cheeses, only soft ones, and one blue cheese. So I ended up with one 'blue' cheese but it was very mild and not a Roquefort/Stilton/St Augur. The final course, treacle & ginger with honey truffles included a nice sorbet and macaroon but the treacle sponge was far too heavy and cloying. It was inconsistent with the rest of the meal and most of us did not enjoy it. Our bill was nearly £300 for 2, without tip/service charge, and when I'm paying that sort of money I rather expect perfection. This was lacking on the night in question, I am sorry to say. I've given only 3 stars because I can't say it was very good. There is a reason this restaurant has lost its Michelin star.Thank you LauranWe have now revised your complaints, once again thank you for your comments Some of your points as you are aware and not quite the truth are they? We clearly state that we pour our aged Louis Roederer Champagne in 100ml glasses, you seemed quite happy as you had three glasses. Your guests declined champagne as they were having the 6 matched wines with their menu, all served in 100ml measures besides the dessert wine which is served as 50ml. Their first wine was served with the first starter, Diver Caught Orkney Scallop, we do not match wines to the amuse Bouche as this would take consumption to over one bottle 750ml per person. You were served bread on a sharing plate with three dips, humus as you say but also cods roe and butter bean with truffles. The bread is made twice a day and on Saturday it was Focaccio, each loaf is made with 250ml of extra virgin olive oil. We offer 5 cheeses on the "tasting of British Cheeses" from a choice of at least 9, we do not have hard such as Cheddar, but do offer semi hard such as Keltic Gold, in 20 years of running the restaurant we are rarely asked for hard cheeses as most guests prefer, soft , cured or semi hard. You declined all cheeses except the blue, preferring the more firm of two choices, Two Hoots. You listed 3 French Cheeses, we don't serve French Cheeses on our "tasting of British Cheeses" You were charged just for this portion not for a tasting plate. I note your comment on the treacle tart, and will certainly adjust this, if it needs to beYour bill at £300 for two although as you say it did not include tip/Services4tourism it did include the 8 beers your husband had, your numerous glasses of champagne and your port ..... Michelin rate on food only not wine measures or hard cheeses we serve.

England, United Kingdom Food Guide: 6 European food Must-Eat Restaurants & Street Food Stalls in Marlborough

ThingsTodoPost © 2018 All rights reserved.