Province of Munster, Ireland Food Guide: 7 Seafood food Must-Eat Restaurants & Street Food Stalls in Kilkee

August 31, 2019 Kandra Bartel

Find out what Seafood restaurants to try in Kilkee. Kilkee (Irish: Cill Chaoi, meaning "Church of Chaoineadh Ita – lamentation for Ita") is a small coastal town in County Clare, Ireland. It is in the parish of Kilkee, formerly Kilfearagh. Kilkee is midway between Kilrush and Doonbeg on the N67 road. The town is popular as a seaside resort. The horseshoe bay is protected from the Atlantic Ocean by the Duggerna Reef.
Things to do in Kilkee

7. Keanes Oyster Bar

Kilrush Rd, Garraun, Kilkee Ireland Seafood Dinner Reservations +353 65 905 6302 http://www.keaneskilkee.com/
Keanes Oyster Bar

Reviewed By TimB787

met friends in keanes for a lovely meal there was 4 of us and the food was the best the portions were the right size

6. Keane's Oyster Bar

Kilkee Ireland Seafood Dinner Seating, Reservations, Table Service +353 35659056302
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Overall Ratings

4 based on 15 reviews

Reviewed By Martha B

We stayed for a two night break at Keanes and really enjoyed our stay,the staff were all so friendly and helpful and made us so welcome.The apartment was very comfortable with every thing we needed. The food was excellent, so tasty and well cooked, we could not fault it and the same with breakfast, everything was nicely cooked and served on hot plates!!We will definately visit this gem again in the near future!

5. The Strand Bistro

The Strand, Kilkee Ireland Irish, Seafood Lunch, Dinner, Late Night Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service +353 65 905 6177 http://www.thestrandkilkee.com/index.php?page=restaurant
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Overall Ratings

4 based on 177 reviews

The Strand Bistro

Reviewed By Jason_Carlow

We stopped into this cafe/bar on a trip to kilkee and found the food to be mediocre with the staff lacking in experience. We waited 10 minutes before having to make our way to the bar to remind them we were waiting for menus. Starters here are seafood only so we skipped to the main courses. We had their gourmet burger special which it would seem is special because they mix 20% pork into the burger. The staff failed to bring the drinks ordered with our main course which resulted in another trip to the bat to ask for our drinks. The desserts were terrible. They served a cheesecake which was runny and tasteless as was the slices of lemon cake. I would have given a 3 star review however the service and then the managers attitude forced me to write this review. During our meal the table next to is where smoking cigarette which was being ignored by staff. I went to the bar to ask them to deal with it and i was told they would. 20 minutes later and still no sign of staff to deal with the smoking and by now we had to move ourselves and our food to another table. Getting the bill was even an ordeal which forced another trip to the bar . Whilst paying the bill i pointed out that no one had been down to sort out the smoking issue. I was told by the manager Andrew that he was too busy to deal with smoking in his establishment. Reading the reviews left by others here i wish i had done so before entering this establishment. I have only one word of advice for anyone visiting Kilkee and that is to “ AVOID “ this place .Dear Mr Jason Carlow……….Thank you for your slightly coloured and inaccurate review of us here At The Strand in Kilkee, and I can say that it further proves my ongoing concerns that anyone can say what they want even if it not true through this particular portal and on this occasion I feel I must defend myself.Just to be clear here on a few points especially on your main bone of contention which I believe may have sparked off your other inaccurate comments, also to be very clear which you have not in your review , you were in fact sitting outside in the open air on this occasion as smoking inside is in fact illegal!!!Now if you had bothered to read up on the current laws regarding smoking on business premises you might have noticed that the law states “, Section 47(7) exempts from the smoking ban an “outdoor part of a place or premises covered by a fixed or movable roof, provided that not more than 50 per cent of the perimeter of that part is surrounded by one or more walls or similar structures.” Therefore, outdoor parts of premises that are more than 50% surrounded by walls must be smoke free” you might have noticed that the front of my premises is 100% uncovered and therefore not a smoke free zone!! It is also not a designated dining area and from time to time weather permitting customers ask if they can eat outside which is absolutely fine by us. On another point Andrew (my Son) did not say that “he was too busy to deal with this trivial issue” and in fact may have relayed that message from myself the chef and owner here who also cooked your “mediocre food” as we were in fact very busy at that time and I did not have the time to come out and explain the real facts about the smoking laws to you but would have been delighted to do so had I the opportunity, and let me assure you that I would never not deal with a customer’s complaint however “trivial” it was.My wife normally manages the restaurant but unfortunately, she was unable to attend on this occasion as she was at home suffering from a knee injury and would also have been delighted to deal with your concerns. Also in your comments you generalise about my staff being “mediocre” which I would also say is inaccurate as they are a group of young people that work very hard over the summer period and they try their best, and during this particular period of our Summer heat wave they were under quite a lot more pressure than normal working in the unfamiliar intense heat conditions ……..so maybe give them a break??? I also notice that you have posted a similar complaint on our other TripAdvisor page….. in attempt to give us both barrels I have no doubt… Another inaccurate point here is to say that "Starters here are seafood only" as we also offer a Soup and or a goats cheese option as an alternative to fish as a starter. My advice to you sir would be to maybe read up on current laws before you make defamatory accusations especially when accusing people of breaking the law. Johnny

4. Lir at Kilkee Golf Club

East End, Kilkee Ireland Irish, Cafe, Seafood, European, Gastropub Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards [email protected] +353 65 908 3000
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Overall Ratings

4 based on 81 reviews

Lir at Kilkee Golf Club

Newly Renovated throughout, luxurious interior with panoramic ocean views. Cafe, restaurant & bar. Open to the public.

Reviewed By SHARPFOX

Went for lunch and was so disappointed. There were plenty of servers but unfortunately speed did not come into the equation. Twenty minutes wait for soup and what a disappointing main course. Their pricing needs to be reviewed as they are totally overpriced for what one gets. Unfortunately a missed opportunity for repeat business.

3. Naughtons

46 O'Curry Street, Kilkee 000000 Ireland Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub Dinner, Lunch, Late Night Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Table Service, Outdoor Seating +353 86 649 3307 http://www.naughtonsbar.com/
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Overall Ratings

4 based on 269 reviews

Naughtons

Reviewed By georgeshead

I last dined in Naughtons about 3 years ago. I thought the food was good but the attitude from the senior people working there was bad. I went back there recently. Complaints are not welcome. The aggression in response to a complaint was unbelievable. Never again.

10 Things to Do in Kilkee That You Shouldn't Miss

2. Hickie's Bar and Restaurant

R 487 O'Connell Street The Bay View, Kilkee V15 NA00 Ireland Irish, Seafood, Gastropub Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch Takeout, Television, Highchairs Available, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Free Wifi, Live Music [email protected] +353 65 905 6058 http://www.facebook.com/HickiesBar
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Overall Ratings

4 based on 225 reviews

Hickie's Bar and Restaurant

Reviewed By obrient

Had lunch there on my own ,Ordered Fish Cakes with salad and chips , a bit pricey for i got what I got.................did notice that the fish cakes after Me were off the menu ?????Nice place to try again on quieter day

Kilkee Food Guide: 10 Must-Eat Restaurants & Street Food Stalls in Kilkee

1. Murphy Blacks Restaurant

O Connell Street, Kilkee Ireland Irish, Seafood Dinner Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Street Parking, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service [email protected] +353 85 875 4886 http://www.murphyblacks.ie/
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Overall Ratings

5 based on 295 reviews

Murphy Blacks Restaurant

Award winning seafood restaurant in an award winning destination. Listed in the McKenna Guides Top 100 Restaurants in Ireland 2016/2017. Sunday Times Top 50 Places to Eat Seafood 2017

Reviewed By L3020BRgrahamm

We had a wonderful dinner, with fantastic food and service. Highly recommend. Make sure that you do reservations in advance

Where to eat Irish food in Kilkee: The Best Restaurants and Bars

ThingsTodoPost © 2018 All rights reserved.